//
you're reading...
Mental Health Symptoms, Our SCD progress

Post SCD – Long-term Dietary Maintenance

I’ve been thinking of late, about what our diet will look like “after” SCD. Thing is, I don’t think there is such a thing as “after” SCD.

By way of example, son and I eat a great deal less grains/wheat/bread than what we used to. Dont get me wrong (lots of chocolate and lollies still) but less grains, less milk, more fresh fruit, cooked meats etc. So in effect, not only do I think we eat way healthier than before, but I dont want to go back. Not for hubby or us. Also I think I am noticing the same mood differences in 7yo son, that my “wheat-free” friend has noticed in her little girl. He seems much happier, and generally more cooperative than what he has been in the past. In fact noticeably more even-tempered. Less over-reactions to things.

So for us as a family, I don’t ever want to go back to the way we used to eat. I plan to continue making the yoghurt on a reasonably regular basis, if not as frequently as now. I plan to minimize or completely eliminate bread and most grains. I will make a special effort to step up the vegetable side of things (both cooked and raw in salads), since hubby was told he has pre-diabetes blood sugar levels the other day, and I don’t want to continue what has been an over-emphasis on fruit.

The reason all this is on my mind I think, is that I have July in mind as when he could officially go off the Specific Carbohydrate Diet. Why July? In truth, I don’t know. I haven’t been counting for the “12 months after the last symptoms” that Elaine recommended, but something tells me that July is about right, and I’m a big fan for going with my gut. Again, I don’t want to stray too far off this SCD track we have discovered, but I do want to enjoy things like a potato salad with commercial mayonnaise, say once a month. Just little treats like that, but not too often.

Anyway, hubby is nagging me to go to bed now, and its late so I’ll be a good girl and do as I’m told.

Nitey nite.

About linbug

Born in 1958 - female - Scorpio - married with one 10yo son and several grown up step-children.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

