//
you're reading...
Recipes

SCD Banana Muffins

I’ve made these about four times now, and 3 out of 4 of those bakes came out just perfect. They even get eaten! Yesterday I made them again and realized after starting that I only had one egg. So I just increased the yogurt to about 1/2 cup, and they were bang on. Its just so forgiving.

Originally adapted from a recipe in the Muffin Bible, published by Penguin (http://www.penguin.co.nz/afa.asp?idWebPage=30233&ID=1788526&SID=858711552). I hope I am not breaching their copyright, by publishing my SCD-compliant version of their recipe. If anyone has any insights on this, I’d appreciate it if you leave a comment for me.

Banana and Ginger Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 60g (2 oz) butter
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 – 2 bananas mashed
  • 2C Almond Flour
  • 1C Coconut Flour
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup SCD yogurt
  • finely sliced walnuts (optional)

Filling:

  • SCD french cream
  • honey and ground ginger to taste.

Mix liquid honey with softened butter, then add eggs and lightly mashed banana and yogurt. Combine Almond and Coconut Four with baking soda and ground ginger.

Mix wet and dry ingredients and add the walnuts now if you are using them.

Bake in prepared muffin pans at 200 deg C (390 deg F) for 15 minutes.

 The reason I am so stoked with this recipe is that they come out “dry” as opposed to soggy, which is what many of my SCD efforts have been.

The ginger flavoured French Cream is just yummy as a topping. Bon appetit everyone! 🙂

About linbug

Born in 1958 - female - Scorpio - married with one 10yo son and several grown up step-children.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

