//
you're reading...
Yogurt

SCD Yogurt setup

Checking the temperature

Checking the temperature.

My sister-in-law found this thermometer at a Home Brew supply place.  When we went to the fancy kitchen establishment there was nothing this useful, let alone this cheap. I think it was $6.00 and its pretty much saved my life. I was struggling with a little digital medical thermometer which didn’t function over the whole range (38 – 43 deg C) so I spent heaps of time guessing. Always worried that I hadn’t gotten enough hours within the correct temperatures.

The latest batch, ready to ferment.

 And there it is. I think this is probably a pet electric blanket which I would have picked up at a garage sale most likely. I leave it set on the high setting in a corner of my kitchen, and at present because of the high daytime temperatures, I don’t really have to check it more than say 2 -3 times a day. I use glad-wrap (cling film?) to cover the top and it just stays within range by default, although at night I throw a tea towel over it for good measure.

The stainless steel tub came out of a commercial ice cream serve-over, but I imagine you’d get something similar out of an old bain-marie if you really wanted. When I think about it, it is this tub that I like the most about this setup, and its basically because it allows me to make 4 litres (around 7 pints) at a time. The time-consuming factor in SCD is a biggie for me, so I appreciate anything which can give maximum results for the time spent.

So far I’ve been storing the finished product in food storage plastics, although there is apparently good reason why you should store your yogurt in glass. I dropped a fresh batch of SCD French Cream on the floor as I was taking it out of the fridge and it shattered into a million bits, so I still vote plastic.  😉

About linbug

Born in 1958 - female - Scorpio - married with one 10yo son and several grown up step-children.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “SCD Yogurt setup

  1. Hi there, i’ve got Crohn’s (am in Cambridge NZ) and have been going round and round in circles on the net trying to find a yoghurt maker or device that will do the job with temp control is there such a thing? thanks for your effort on your blog, is there a NZ SCD group or anything? any advice or info would be gratefully accepted. kindest regards Sharleen

    Posted by sharleen8 | May 2, 2009, 11:36 pm
  2. Hi Sharleen
    sorry to take a while getting back to you. The only thing I have ever used is the setup detailed in the blog post you have already seen. I am not familiar with yogurt makers per se, but there is a lady down Christchurch way who may have sorted something by now. I will try to find her email again, and see if she has anything to report. I will email you direct as soon as I have something but we are in the middle of moving, so this may take me a few days – sorry ’bout that. 🙂
    As for prep, we took 2 months setting things up before we actually started the diet. The yogurt seems hard until you’ve done it a few times, and then it gets easier. I use DeWinkel Greek Style unsweetened for starter. Some people use an Easiyo one, but I don’t remember which is legal. I will try to catch up again soon. cheers and best of luck.

    Posted by linbug | May 5, 2009, 11:55 am

Leave a Reply

